The RP Award

The £2,000 RP Award is made to the artist whose work best represents the year’s chosen theme – which for this inaugural year, 2019, is ‘Skin’. The judges sought the most interesting and engaging interpretation of the idea of ‘Skin’ within the parameters of portraiture.   James Hague won this year's prize with 'Tom' 

Smallwood Architects Prize

  The Smallwood Architects Prize of £1,000, inaugurated in 2016, is awarded for a portrait in which architectural or interior features play an important part.   View winning portraits from previous years below. PREVIOUS WINNERS 2018 – Michael Taylor 2017 – David Cobley RP NEAC 2016 – Lyn Gray  

The Ondaatje Prize For Portraiture

The Ondaatje Prize for Portraiture is sponsored by Sir Christopher Ondaatje CBE OC and the Ondaatje Foundation, this generous prize of £10,000 plus the Society's Gold Medal is awarded for the most distinguished portrait of the year. The Prize was launched in 1995 and took the form of a commission to paint H.M. The Queen,…

The De Laszlo Foundation Award

The de Laszlo Foundation award, sponsored by the de Laszlo Foundation, aims to encourage young artists. It is worth £3,000 and is awarded, together with a silver medal, to an artist under thirty-five years old judged to have submitted the best portrait. 2019 Winner  Joshua Waterhouse for 'The Engineer' View winning portraits from previous years…

Burke’s Peerage Foundation Award

The Burke’s Peerage Foundation Award: The Burke’s Peerage Foundation Award, established by its co-founders Mark Ayre and William Bortrick in 2015, is presented for Classically Inspired Portraiture in the RP Annual Exhibition. It is presented each year with a certificate and a cheque for £2,000. 2019 Winner Phoebe Dickinson for ‘Rose at Houghton'   View winning portraits from previous…